jump to navigation

Top 5 Things I Hate About Arizona February 22, 2007

Posted by Mike N. Cheese in Friends/Family.
trackback

To my sister-in-law who is currently being tempted to move to the Grand Canyon State.

1. Snowbirds

Hoards of people from Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and other dreadful places fill the trailer parks of Arizona every winter. Their driving drives me up the wall.

2. Beauty only comes in pockets

We have nice neighborhoods and we have ugly neighborhoods. In Ladera Ranch, we saw no blight. In our neighborhood, the freedom we have by not having an association means that our next door neighbor can let their yard go to pot, and there’s not much we can do about it.

3. A white Christmas is never going to happen.Ok, never say never, but if you want real snow, you’ll have to drive at least 90 miles. Normally I’m fine without snow, but I wouldn’t mind it once in a while.

4. It’s hot.

That’s an understatement. I don’t want to say “hot as hell” because I don’t know if hell is necessarily hot. I’ve been much more miserable being cold than hot. But that’s not the point. It gets really, really hot and no amount of air conditioning or swimming or fans will stop you from feeling sometimes like you just stuck your head in the oven. Burning your feet on the sidewalk or your butt on a leather car seat is no fun either.

To the AZ folks: have you ever been really hot, then all of the sudden, you got a little chill? That’s a weird feeling.

sweating

5. People who love desert living.

I cannot stand people who move to Arizona and want to live the desert lifestyle. We Arizonans have spent a lot of time and effort in the valley of the sun trying to forget about the desert. We’ve built canals, planted grass and trees, and built normal looking houses. And yet, for some strange reason, people still build pueblo houses with rock and cactus front yards adorned with wagon wheels, cow skulls, and large iron kokapellis (see below). Ugh.

Comments»

1. Emily - February 22, 2007

Those who do not embrace desert living to some extent are un-ecofriendly, waterhogging, golfers.

2. stephanie - February 22, 2007

oh honey, you always keep me in stitches. nice work. i especially love the pictures. and you.

3. leslie - February 22, 2007

very nice, mike. thanks for your input. i especially love that picture of the tan snowbird people in the pool.
btw, i second ginger’s request: will you take my last name of the link to me on your link list? i feel kind of weird about having it there. thanks, you’re a peach. 🙂

4. Ginger - February 22, 2007

Mike… that was awesome! I am SO moving to AZ next chance i get! 🙂

PS… thanks for taking off my last name!

5. Jennifer - February 22, 2007

Michael Court. You are funny. I just happened upon this lovely little blog and now I am reading it and realizing that you are indeed funny. Anyway, it’s been a while. I haven’t seen you since…oh, 1997?? Just thought I’d say hi… Your family is very very cute and I hope that everything’s going well for you all!

-Jennifer Badgett…(Ward)
P.S. You can check out my blog if you’d like…because it is cool. I bet you didn’t know how cool I am. Really really cool. 🙂

http://www.badgettfamily.blogspot.com

6. leslie - February 23, 2007

lovin’ my name with a utah accent, mike. i’ve never even thought of how that would sound. thanks for switching it! and happy anniversary, too.


Leave a Reply

